Skip to content
fi
en

Looking for an investor?

Finnfund expects all its investments to be profitable, environmentally and socially responsible and produce measurable development impact in their target countries.

Finnfund puts special emphasis on sectors that are critical to sustainable development, namely renewable energy, sustainable forestry, sustainable agriculture, financial institutions and digital infrastructure and solutions.

We do invest in other good projects as well when they match our investment strategy and meet our requirements. We also have special focus on investments that advance gender equality and which mitigate climate change and help people in developing countries adapt to it.

We are looking for

  • Profitability
  • Environmental and social responsibility
  • Measurable development impact

Good to know about Finnfund financing

  • We invest only in developing countries as defined by OECD/DAC
  • Our financing can be in the form of equity, mezzanine financing or debt.
  • Finnfund’s share in new companies is always smaller than the share of the project sponsor but can be greater in expansion investments.
  • We only invest in privately owned business.
  • Our financing is always on market terms.
  • Ticket size varies from one million to 25 million euros.
  • Our financing can be in either euros or in US dollars.

1. Contact Finnfund’s investment team

We have 30 impact investment professionals in Finnfund.

Contact the person responsible for your business sector (click the name of the sector and select your contact).

 

Sarita Bartlett

Sarita Bartlett
Senior Portfolio Manager

sarita.bartlett@finnfund.fi
tel. +358 40 665 4989

Funds

Peter Chappell

Peter Chappell
Investment Manager

peter.chappell@finnfund.fi
tel. +358 40 198 5742

Sustainable agriculture, Sustainable forestry

Pauliina Halonen
Investment Manager

pauliina.halonen@finnfund.fi
tel. +358 40 759 6479

Sustainable agriculture, Sustainable forestry

Elina Happonen
Portfolio Manager

elina.happonen@finnfund.fi
+358 50 365 3985

Digital infrastructure and solutions

Kuutti Kilpeläinen
Senior Investment Manager, Head of Digital Infrastructure and Solutions

kuutti.kilpelainen@finnfund.fi
tel. +358 44 013 1291

Digital infrastructure and solutions

Kyaw Latt
Investment Manager

kyaw.latt@finnfund.fi
tel. +358 40 631 2941

Financial institutions

Valtter Louhivuori
Head of Nairobi Office

valtter.louhivuori@finnfund.fi
tel. +254 757 248 789

Investment operations

Riikka Molander
Associate Director, Head of Funds portfolio

riikka.molander@finnfund.fi
tel. +358 50 369 4039

Funds

Ari Nironen
Senior Investment Manager
(fragile states)

ari.nironen@finnfund.fi
tel. +358 40 547 8848

Energy

Ilkka Norjamäki
Associate Director, Head of Agriculture and Forestry portfolio

ilkka.norjamaki@finnfund.fi
tel. +358 40 866 8642

Sustainable agriculture, Sustainable forestry

Justin Nthala
Senior Investment Manager

justin.nthala@finnfund.fi
tel. +358 40 483 7117

Energy

Antti Partanen
Investment Manager

antti.partanen@finnfund.fi
tel. +358 41 468 6333

Financial institutions

Markus Pentikäinen
Investment Manager
(healthcare and education)

markus.pentikainen@finnfund.fi
tel. +358 50 339 7726

Other sectors

Johanna Raehalme
Head of Origination, Africa

johanna.raehalme@finnfund.fi
tel. +254 798 862 768

Investment operations

Ulla-Maija Rantapuska
Investment Manager

ulla-maija.rantapuska@finnfund.fi
tel. +358 41 536 5631

Financial institutions

Niklas Simola
Investment Manager

niklas.simola@finnfund.fi
tel. +358 400 504 360

Digital infrastructure and solutions

Finnfund-Helena_Teppana

Helena Teppana
Associate Director

helena.teppana@finnfund.fi
tel. +358 40 822 8296

Energy

Jussi Tourunen
Associate Director, Head of Energy and Infrastructure portfolio

jussi.tourunen@finnfund.fi
tel. +358 40 568 0578

Energy, Infrastructure

Antti Urvas
Associate Director, Head of Financial Institutions portfolio

antti.urvas@finnfund.fi
tel. +358 45 113 0547

Financial institutions

2. Present your project plan

For project appraisal, we will need a project plan developed by the client. We advise you to contact us already when designing the project as our experts have considerable experience on business operations in the developing markets.

For project appraisal, we need a project plan developed by the client. Read more for instructions.

 

3. Assessment of environmental and social responsibility

Environmental and social requirements are determined case-by-case.

At the start of the process, we make sure that projects meet Finnfund’s basic environmental, social and governance standards. Environmental and social responsibility assessments also help set the terms of funding.

 

 

4. Development impact assessment

The development impacts are assessed before the investment decision and during the entire life cycle of the investment.

This ex ante assessment focuses e.g. on the strategic relevance of the project, the importance for the market development of the target country, and the financial and other additionality of Finnfund’s participation. It is also important to assess the impacts from the perspective of the poor and women.

5. Investment decision

We strive to keep our investment process swift and flexible. Investment decision is usually taken within 3 to 4 months from first contact. The final investment decision is taken by the Finnfund Board of Director based on proposals from the Finnfund management. The Board usually meets once a month.

Business sectors

Finnfund puts special emphasis on sectors that are critical to sustainable development, namely renewable energy, sustainable forestry, sustainable agriculture, financial institutions and digital infrastructure and solutions.

We do invest in other good projects as well when they match our investment strategy,

Our investments

At the end of 2022 Finnfund’s portfolio contained 191 investment decisions in 55 countries. Learn more about our projects by clicking on the map.